Kind Words

from real couples

Choosing your venue is a big step!  We know you want to be sure you've chosen somewhere awesome!  Somewhere that understands how important this experience is, and that when it comes to your wedding day, there are no do-over's.
That's why we go above and beyond to bring our A game to every single wedding we host. 
Here's what some of our real life couples have shared about their Golden Horseshoe Wedding...


available wedding dates

request a venue tour

— alexundria + Carlton

"Our experience with the Golden Horseshoe Inn was more than we could have ever dreamed of! Heather was so thoughtful and accommodating throughout the entire process. Her goal was to make this day perfect for us and she and her entire staff succeeded! We were able to soak in the day and enjoy every aspect of the wedding thanks to Heather’s planning! We were so thankful to come across a venue that has such a beautiful boutique feel. The guest are still raving about the venue and the service they received! They also offer videography that is phenomenal! They captured raw feelings that will be cherished for a life time.
I highly recommend this venue!" 

- Courtney + Cameron

- Courtney + Cameron

— laura

"If you're considering a small wedding in the Charlottesville or Harrisonburg area and this place isn't on your list of places to see, you're making a tremendous mistake. So many of our guests asked us how we found the place (thanks WeddingWire) and some of my family from New Jersey told me that they wished they'd had a wedding like ours instead of their big country club weddings. All in all, an amazing day and Heather and her team are irreplaceable gems. !"

"The Golden Horseshoe Inn is an absolutely beautiful venue, but when you choose this venue you get so much more than that. Heather, Brittany, and the rest of the staff work with you to cover every aspect of the wedding. You get a wedding planner, advice, a cake, flowers, decorations, and so much more. If you're like me and felt super overwhelmed at how many options there are in the wedding industry, and how many variables you have to coordinate for a successful wedding, you will absolutely love the service provided by the team at the Golden Horseshoe Inn. Heather and Brittany were always available to answer any questions and had great advice based on all the experience they have. Whenever I was asked how wedding planning was coming along by friends and family, they were always shocked when I said how easy it was! It was not only easy, it was enjoyable.

To emphasize what a great service the Golden Horseshoe Inn staff provides, I was able to plan my wedding while I was deployed overseas with the Army. If you have any concerns with holding a wedding when you aren't located close to this venue, please do not hesitate! Heather and Brittany made it SO easy.

The value of this venue is immeasurable. While you can certainly add many things to your wedding, this venue provides so much that you most definitely won't need to. The only thing that I purchased myself for our wedding was a cake topper. That's it! The girls helped me handle the rest. I can't say enough good things about this place, I absolutely recommend it to EVERYONE!
 !"

"From our first step inside The Golden Horseshoe Inn we knew this was the place we NEEDED to have host our wedding! From the impressive Bridal and Grooms suites to the twinkling lights hung in the windows; the venue is simply charming. Heather and her staff are such a delight to work with and take the stress out of planning. I highly recommend you follow along with their blog and Instagram post to ensure you fall further in love with the venue and their work. If you want a magical, stress-free wedding then book this place!" 

"If I could give Heather and her team 100 stars, I would! Me and my husband eloped this past weekend and we were both very nervous, particularly for the ceremony! Heather and Brittany handheld us through the whole experience! They are kind, helpful, friendly and more supportive then I could have ever wished! Our elopement was absolutely PERFECT! The ceremony was sweet and intimate! The cake was not only beautiful...it was delicious! The flowers were exactly as requested, fresh and lovely! We had a champagne toast and even had a warm cup of coffee to help keep us warm on our chilly November day! The ladies helped me get dressed (kudos to Brittany for tackling all those buttons down the back of my dress!). I bet Heather took well over 200 pictures of our wedding...from getting ready, the ceremony, cutting the cake, the epic skyline drive pics, kisses, hugs...the list is endless! She gave us a sneak peak of our pics just three days later and we both absolutely love every pic she took! I cannot impress enough how wonderful the quality of Heathers photography is! If you are contemplating where to elope or have an intimate wedding...please search no further. Between the service, attention, affordability and kindness...you cannot find a better experience! Oh, and the private cottage is to die for! The Golden Horseshoe Inn is a complete one stop shop for your big day!!" 

-amanda + Patrick

— melanie +Albert

"Our day was amazing, everyone can’t stop talking about our wedding... how pretty it was and how amazing the team was. They made my day the best!"

"I love the fact that Golden Horseshoe Inn is accepting of all those who are in love. Quirky couples and quirky weddings don't seem to faze them a bit! !"

"The Golden Horseshoe Inn is an absolutely beautiful venue, but when you choose this venue you get so much more than that. Heather and the rest of the staff work with you to cover every aspect of the wedding. You get a wedding planner, advice, a cake, flowers, decorations, and so much more. If you're like me and felt super overwhelmed at how many options there are in the wedding industry, and how many variables you have to coordinate for a successful wedding, you will absolutely love the service provided by the team at the Golden Horseshoe Inn.  Whenever I was asked how wedding planning was coming along by friends and family, they were always shocked when I said how easy it was! It was not only easy, it was enjoyable. To emphasize what a great service the Golden Horseshoe Inn staff provides, I was able to plan my wedding while I was deployed overseas with the Army. If you have any concerns with holding a wedding when you aren't located close to this venue, please do not hesitate! They made it SO easy. The value of this venue is immeasurable. While you can certainly add many things to your wedding, this venue provides so much that you most definitely won't need to. The only thing that I purchased myself for our wedding was a cake topper. That's it! The girls helped me handle the rest. I can't say enough good things about this place, I absolutely recommend it to EVERYONE!

-Julia

— pranam bai + david

"The venue was stunning, and the GHI team was so helpful in the prep and execution of our wedding day! They took the pressure and stress out of the day, and made our entire guest list feel like one big family. You can't beat the location, value, service, and hospitality that The Golden Horseshoe has to offer!"

"We chose the Elegance Elopement package, and having the entire inn to ourselves for the day with no rushing around or worrying about holding other people up was amazing! Our flowers were gorgeous, the cake was some of the best we ever had, the ceremony was lovely and our photos came out absolutely beautifully! Not to mention our decorations were stunning! We felt so at home and completely welcome at the inn and smiled and laughed the whole time. We can't recommend this venue enough--they include everything you could dream of, decorate to your tastes and are incredibly kind and easy to work with."  - Jocelyn and Lanna

"We can't recommend this venue enough! they include everything you could dream of."

"Heather and her team were absolutely amazing! Planning was a breeze and I never had one doubt during the entire process. She made our dreams a reality and truly gave me the perfect wedding I had always dreamed of!" - Cheyenne and Austin

"She made our dreams a reality and truly gave me the wedding i had always dreamed of!"

Cheyenne and Austin, September 23, 2017

"... it was everything we dreamed of. Heather and her team pretty much took all the stress away of planning a wedding which is great because I am a stress junkie! When I walked in the day of the wedding everything was set up beautifully, and exactly how I wanted it. They even made personal touches to fit mine and my husband’s personalities. I can’t say enough about Heather, Brittany, and Monique. They are fabulous and made our wedding day absolutely perfect" - Hollie and Chris

"The moment I walked into The Golden Horseshoe Inn I knew it was the place I was meant to get married"

Hollie and Chris, October 8th, 2017 

"My husband and I had a wonderful experience and are so thankful we chose the Golden Horseshoe Inn for our special day. We chose the Elegance Elopement and it came together so beautifully. . We had a very intimate, relaxing, and stress free day which gave us the ability to enjoy one another and focus on us. Heather and her assistant wedding planner were there to help every step. We had some good laughs as well; it was like having two good friends with me. Our day was perfect from the ceremony, the decorations, the delicious cake and the stay in the Honeymoon cottage. We cherished every moment and have memories that will last a life time!" - Lakesha and Brian

"I only gave Heather our colors and from that she decorated everything as if she saw the vision I had in my head!"

Lakesha & Brian, April 8th, 2016

"There is no better place to wed than the Golden Horseshoe Inn. Heather and her entire team are kind, nurturing, efficient, creative, and just about perfect in every way! We planned our entire wedding from across the country and with their help, it was a success. Every detail was magical and as a very stressed out bride, their kindness and comforting chats really kept me sane throughout the entire day. In addition, I just can't say enough about how much we loved GHI. Best value in the area and absolutely the most wonderful place to wed!" - Autumne and Nathan

"Heather is an exquisite photographer!  our photos turned out like a magazine and we will cherish them for years to come!"

Autumne & Nathan, April 29. 2017

"Words cannot express how grateful my husband and I are to the Golden Horseshoe Inn team. Heather and her staff operate like a well-oiled machine to ensure that your special day runs seamlessly. I appreciated the small reassurances and the calm demeanor of both Heather and her assistants throughout the morning. They took care of all the hiccups with the ease of true professionals. That really helped me focus on what was important throughout the day. Golden Horseshoe Inn’s services alleviate practically all of the burden on couples planning a small to medium sized wedding. Without reservation, I recommend Golden Horseshoe Inn to any couple seeking an all-inclusive wedding service at an affordable price. The location is beautiful, the staff is professional and thoughtful, and the services can be easily customized to fit your wedding vision!" - Sarah and Johannes

"Trust that you are placing your wedding day in the hands of very talented and capable people who want the same thing that you want—a special and memorable wedding day"

Sarah & Johannes, April 9th, 2017

"Golden Horseshoe Inn is a beautiful place for a wedding! First, the place and area is absolutely beautiful. Heather and everyone else at Golden Horseshoe is amazing!!! I wanted a wedding where I did not have to worry about anything and that is exactly what I got. They exceeded our expectations. We chose the elopement package and it was very special. Everything from the cake (which was delicious), the flowers, the decorating, and, most importantly, the service was absolutely perfect! The photos that Heather took are stunning! I have received so many compliments on them. I can't say enough good things. I very highly recommend!" - Cara and Bruce

"Everything from the cake (which was delicious), the flowers, the decorating, and, most importantly, the service was absolutely perfect!"

Cara & Bruce, July 13, 2018

The actual day of the wedding exceeded our expectations. The setup was stunning, Brittany and Monique were as helpful and delightful as could possibly be, and Heather, well her photos speak for themselves! Our guests received the best treatment in a relaxed, fun and joyous environment. The day want exactly as planned. It was truly the best day of my life, and the best wedding I've ever been to !"
-Stefanie and Troy

"We knew during the planning phase that Golden Horseshoe Inn was the perfect venue for us! The location and house are gorgeous, and Heather was beyond helpful and responsive! But that was just the beginning... 

Stefanie and Troy 5.5.18

 They made everything super pretty, and super easy! All we had to do was show up. I’m so grateful for them!! Our day was amazing, everyone can’t stop talking about our wedding how pretty it was and how amazing the team was. They made my day the best.  If you want a small amazing wedding this is the venue to book!
Heather does amazing work with her photography, she makes sure she gets the best light and the best poses. I appreciate her so much. "
-Alexundria and Carlton

"Heather is very responsive to emails which I loved so much! And the wedding planning was so easy- I wasn’t stressed out about anything! I can’t express enough how awesome Heather and her team are. 

Alex and Carlton 11.10.18

Planning our (very small) elopement/wedding was seamless and stress-free. After 3 emails, we arrived the day-of and found everything absolutely perfect and beautiful- decorations, flowers, cake- all of it. And at incredibly affordable prices! I could not possibly imagine a better place for a small, mountain wedding!
-Barbara and Jed 

"We knew almost the moment we arrived that we would have our wedding at the golden horseshoe inn. 

Barbara and Jed 10.28.18

 You made us feel like we were the most important people to walk through the door.
If you are looking for an intimate all inclusive venue with attention to detail then the Golden Horseshoe Inn is the place for you. Everything from the atmosphere to the drinks, food, decor, and photography is top notch!"
- Mother and Father of the Bride, Kaki and Tim

"I cannot begin the thank Heather enough for making our daughter's wedding day a dream come true! From the time we walked into the door to the time we walked out the door after the wedding everything was done to perfection!

Lauren and James 8.18.18

From the first phone call I placed I had nothing but helpful, warm, happy, excited, and informative attitude. Heather and her crew are simply the best. My wedding was a dream come true and I truly felt like a princess. If I had to do it all over again I would constantly hit repeat. I will cherish that day forever!
- Sereta and James

"I don't know where to begin when it comes to expressing the quality of service I received from The Golden Horseshoe Inn!

Sereta and James 6.9.18

Heather and her staff are exceptional at what they do. They made the venue look so beautiful. They took care of the smallest details for us before and during our wedding. They answered all our questions and e-mails quickly and precisely. Our wedding was small and intimate but it was also a lot of fun. We thank Heather and her staff for all the hard work. Our stress was significantly relieved because of it. We highly recommend this venue!
-Liz and Aaron

"When we walked into the Golden Horseshoe Inn Aaron and I knew it was exactly what we were looking for!"

Liz and Aaron 5.19.18

 Heather has this way of just making you feel like everything works out (and it did). A bride will never be stressed about anything having this team. We had Alan conduct the ceremony and literally the whole day was just phenomenal! It was elegant but cozy with 50 people and everything just went seamlessly well.  Heather has a spectacular sense of detail and even had anything we might have forgotten up in the dressing areas!  We have such great memories of this day!" - Rebecca and Tim



"I can't honestly put into words how amazing this place is! We had to plan from Florida and Heather just put me at ease with everything! We did meet with her a month before the wedding and I was amazed at how from that meeting to our wedding day I was extremely calm!

Rebecca and Tim 3.24.18

"We eloped, so it was just the two of us- quiet and romantic. Heather was BEYOND accommodating from beginning to end. She is so sweet and cheerful and she captured AMAZING photos of us before, during, and after the ceremony. The Skyline Drive photos cannot compete with any other backdrop... absolutely GORGEOUS! Alan (Heather's father) performed our ceremony in his captains uniform (our choice) and that totally made us smile. I really couldn't have asked for a more calm, relaxing and beautiful day... all thanks to Heather and the Golden Horseshoe Inn!! XOXOXO 
-Amanda and Joey

"My husband and I wanted a stress free wedding that was all about us...and the Golden Horseshoe Inn was the perfect place! 

Amanda and Joey

including gorgeous photography by Heather.  Everything ran smoothly from our first venue tour to our planning meeting to our wedding day. . The venue itself is stunning. We had an indoor ceremony but the venue also does outdoor ceremonies. On the day of our wedding, the Golden Horseshoe Inn was set up to be even more beautiful than we imagined. The wedding cake and bouquet were also designed especially for us and were absolutely breathtaking. All night long we had guests ask us how we found the venue! Last but not least, Heather provided a set of preview photos from our wedding the TUESDAY after our wedding! If you are looking to get married in Virginia look no further than the Golden Horseshoe Inn! - Jane and Ryan

"My husband and I were married at the Golden Horseshoe Inn last weekend. Wow! We are super impressed by Heather, Our wedding was PERFECT. Nearly all the planning details were taken care of by Heather & her team

Jane and Ryan

" Our elopement was absolutely PERFECT! The ceremony was sweet and intimate! The cake was not only beautiful...it was delicious! The flowers were exactly as requested, fresh and lovely! We had a champagne toast and even had a hot cup of coffee to help keep us warm on our chilly November day!  Heather gave us a sneak peak of our pics just three days later and we both absolutely love every pic she took! I cannot impress enough how wonderful the quality of Heather's photography is! If you are contemplating where to elope or have an intimate wedding...please search no further. Between the service, attention, affordability and kindness...you cannot find a better experience!  - Sherry and Jason

"If I could give Heather and her team 100 stars, I would! my husband and I eloped this past weekend and Heather handheld us through the whole experience! The staff is kind, helpful, friendly and more supportive then I could have ever wished!

Sherry and Jason 11.18.17

They are impeccable with their attention to detail, their willingness to understand your personal vision, and making the experience a true fairy tale wedding. Upon first visiting the venue, we were astounded at how beautiful, historic, and inviting this setting truly is. Heather is incredibly talented, not only as the wedding planner but also as a photographer. She was more than willing to go the extra mile to make the experience special and unique. She answered all questions and e-mails very quickly and her quality of work was wonderful. Alan was our officiant and we not only had many interesting conversations with him prior, but he also did a wonderful job the day of. Through the entire process we were relaxed, happy, and elated to be getting married at GHI.   We still hear from our guests that our wedding was their favorite they have ever attended. We highly recommend this venue to any couple looking for a intimate and unforgettable wedding! - Brianne and Joel

"We have been married for 6 months now, and continue to reminiscence about our breathtaking wedding at the Golden Horseshoe Inn!

Brianne and Joel

"  Heather had great advice based on all the experience she has. Whenever I was asked how wedding planning was coming along by friends and family, they were always shocked when I said how easy it was!  To emphasize what a great service the Golden Horseshoe Inn staff provides, I was able to plan my wedding while I was deployed overseas with the Army.  The value of this venue is immeasurable.  The only thing that I purchased myself for our wedding was a cake topper. That's it! The girls helped me handle the rest. I can't say enough good things about this place, I absolutely recommend it to EVERYONE! - Julia + Derek 

"If you're like me and felt super overwhelmed at how many options there are in the wedding industry, and how many variables you have to coordinate for a successful wedding, you will absolutely love the service provided by the team at the Golden Horseshoe Inn.

Julia and Derek 

We are from Virginia but live in Indiana and even though we didn’t meet Heather or see the venue until the day of our wedding, it was everything we could’ve hoped for. We were able to enjoy every moment of our day because everything was ready for us. There was no stress because I knew I could count on Heather. My husband and I adore our wedding photos by Heather and wedding video done by her husband Stephen. We are so thankful to have them to be able to look back on our special day for years to come. We are so happy we got married at the Golden Horseshoe Inn and we wouldn’t have had it any other way! - Meghan and Jeff

"They brought our wedding dreams to life!
Our wedding was absolutely wonderful! Heather was helpful from the very first day I reached out when we began planning our elopement... 

Meghan and Jeff April 6th, 2019

 I could say so many wonderful things about the staff and the venue. They really did make my dreams come true and I am so grateful. From the bottom of my heart, I give them all the thanks!  - Tony and Todd

"Absolutely Phenomenal !  I can honestly say that I had one of the best wedding experiences because of this place!

Tony and Todd May 2019

"Everything from start to finish was seamless. Heather is very prompt and responsive when getting back to emails and our wedding day went off without a hitch. I absolutely loved that I could be as involved as the planning as I wanted to be, or when life was pulling me in other directions there was never any doubt that Heather and her team had it all covered. I could not have asked for a better crew of folks to make our family feel so welcome that day. My parents were blown away by the hospitality and how everything came together. I can't recommend this venue enough!
 - Jennifer and Mark

"Absolutely amazing!!
Heather and the staff at GHI are the absolute best wedding preparation team you could ever ask for. 

Jennifer and Mark June, 23, 2019

"Heather has planning down to a science in the best way - so many checklists with things we never would have even thought about needing! Also all of the fun parts were still left for us to decide (colors, decor, etc.), while they already took care of the less-fun things (dirty dishes, having enough chairs, etc.). As someone who is a worrier and can easily get overwhelmed, I found Heather's personality absolutely perfect for mitigating my fears and keeping me so positive, from planning meetings through day-of photographs. I always left every encounter with her feeling SO excited about the wedding.  I can't thank the staff enough, or recommend their (very reasonably-priced) packages enough!!! - Margaret and Michael

"I know Heather, Monique, Alan, and the rest of their amazing staff do weddings multiple times a week, but they also somehow managed to make ours feel like it was the most amazing and important event in the world!"

Margaret and Michael - June 8, 2019

" The wedding industry can be very daunting, but GHI melts all of your stress and worries away throughout everything.   On the day of the wedding, I could feel the magic in the air the moment I stepped foot into the venue. Everything was set up so beautifully, and the team brought us so much cheer and energy that I thought I would burst from excitement. The entire day went by so smoothly and there was NOTHING that went wrong, or was out of place.  Our ceremony was beautiful and really captured our love for each other. Heather is an AMAZING photographer and you can tell all of the love and passion she puts into not only her photography, but her phenomenal business. I could never put into words how thankful I am for her and all that she has done for us! - Katie and Max

"it was very refreshing to work with a group of people who are truly genuine and a joy to be around. There wasn't a moment that we weren't smiling and actually having FUN in this whole process!"

Katie and Max - June 22, 2019

"Heather created a timeline based on our needs, gave us much needed advice on decor and music, and asked tons of questions to ensure that the look and feel of the day matched us well. Our wedding day was amazing. From the second I walked into the venue the morning of, it was more than I could have imagined. The decor was perfectly placed, the reception tables were beautiful, and the deck where we were married was intimate and romantic. Alan, who performed our ceremony was so well spoken and heartfelt - while I'm sure he's done hundreds of ceremonies, he made us feel like we were special. Best part: we had not a worry in the world on our day. Our guests couldn't stop raving about how great everything looked, and how nice everyone was. Thank you to GHI for making our day so special!" - Kimberly and Matt

"We wanted a day with our closest friends and family, in a beautiful location, and needed serious help with putting it all together. If this sounds like you, then you will never find a more perfect venue than GHI.

Kimberly and Matt - 6.29.19

next

Kind Words from Awesome People